Skip to content

Exceeding NQS in Every Area

Hammock time v2
Blog post

Mater Dei Early Childhood Education educators and staff members had much to celebrate when they received the results of Mater Dei Preschool's very first Assessment and Rating.

Education and care services including Mater Dei Preschool are assessed against the National Quality Standard (NQS) that measures the quality of early childhood education and care in Australia.

We are pleased to announce that Mater Dei Preschool did not just meet these standards, but was ranked as Exceeding National Quality Standards in every single Quality Area as well as in all 18 Standards within the 7 Quality Areas. Essentially receiving full marks! 

The National Quality Standard (NQS) has 7 Quality Areas + 18 Standards + 58 Elements as follows: 

  • QA1       Educational program and practice
  • QA2       Children’s health and safety
  • QA3       Physical environment
  • QA4       Staffing arrangements
  • QA5       Relationships with children
  • QA6       Collaborative partnerships with families and communities
  • QA7       Governance and Leadership

For a new Preschool and for a first Assessment & Rating this is an extraordinary result. Thanks to every educator and staff member for their commitment to our children's early childhood education.